We founded the Chor Hang Educational Research Institute to continuously review and enhance Yew Chung's curriculum and pedagogy, and engage with the wider professional community.


The Chor Hang Educational Research Institute (CHERI) was founded in 2016 as a member of the YCEF. Established in the spirit and honour of our founder, Madam Tsang Chor Hang, CHERI is dedicated to furthering the philosophy and objectives of the Foundation by fostering a culture of innovation, collaboration and professional growth. We are grateful to the many friends and colleagues who serve on our inaugural advisory board, and who are collaborating with us on research.


How do curriculum and culture work together to nurture globally competent and responsible citizens? How does curriculum facilitate 21st Century learning approaches? These are just some of the questions that CHERI explores, consistently enhancing teaching practices and continuous improvement of curriculum for all schools across the network.


Through specialised professional development programmes, CHERI also provides opportunities for Yew Chung and Yew Wah teachers and leaders to enhance their capacity, enabling them to be the best educators they can be.


Innovation sits at the heart of YCEF and CHERI seeks to engage in applied and scholarly educational research, both in-house and in collaboration with world-class experts and institutions. All teachers are encouraged to submit research proposals that explore their own areas of interest, generating new ideas that could be shared across our schools and with the global community of educators.


Prof. Susan Fowler (Department of Special Education, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Prof. Mary Hayden (Department of Education, University of Bath)
Prof. Fazal Rizvi (Graduate School of Education, University of Melbourne)
Prof. Beverly Shaklee (Center for International Education, George Mason University)
Prof. Shi Ping
Prof. Iram Siraj (Department of Learning and Leadership, Institute of Education University College London; Early Start Research Institute, University of Wollongong)
Prof. Kathy Sylva (Department of Education, University of Oxford)
Prof. Jeff Thompson (Department of Education, University of Bath)
Prof. Xiao Xiang-Ning


Dr. Stephanie Sanders-Smith, Yew Chung – Bernard Spodek Scholar in Early Childhood Education (College of Education, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Dr. Bonnie Yim, Dr. Louise Paatsch, and Dr. Natalie Robertson (Faculty of Arts and Education, Deakin University)